Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Election 2020, early list for Kildare South

The race is now on and so far there are seven candidates declared in Kildare South for the General Election 2020 to take place on 8 February, writes Brian Byrne. There are no doubt more to come.

The Ceann Comhairle, Fianna Fail's Seán Ó Fearghaíl TD (above), is automatically re-elected, which leaves three seats to be contested in the now four-seater constituency.

Current Fianna Fail deputy Fiona O'Loughlin is up for re-election, with Cllr Suzanne Doyle joining her campaign. Deputy O'Loughlin has been vocal on very many issues, local and national, since being first elected to the Dail. Councillor Doyle has proved herself to be a very effective and professional councillor in Kildare County Councillor.

Sitting Fine Gael deputy Martin Heydon is also seeking re-election. From a farming background, he is chairman of the Fine Gael Parliamentary Party and will be running on a strong local constituency record.

Cllr Mark Wall is looking to win back the Labour seat long held by his father Jack. A much respected Labour heritage will stand to his campaign.

The Green Party is running Ronan Maher, whose occupation is an IT specialist. His focus is on affordable housing, cheap reliable public transportation and a clean, well preserved natural environment.

The Social Democrats are hoping to build on a good local elections result by running Linda Hayden from Newbridge. She is a manager with a multinational cosmetics firm. Her focus will be on protection of vulnerable people and a better deal for the Defence Forces.

Dr Cathal Berry is an Independent candidate. He is a former army ranger and military medical officer and will be highlighting poor pay and conditions in the Defence Forces.

NOTE: Anyone seeking membership of the Dáil needs to be a citizen of Ireland, be over 21 years of age, be not disqualified from election to the Dáil. 

A nomination paper must be completed and given to the returning officer of the constituency in which the person wishes to be nominated. 

It must be submitted to the returning officer for the constituency by 12 noon on the seventh day after the issue of the writ by the Dáil to the returning officer.

Photographs use Policy — Privacy Policy