Sunday, February 26, 2017

Kilcullen GAA in party mode

When Kilcullen GAA decides to party, well they do it in style, writes Brian Byrne. And last night in Keadeen Hotel some 320 people showed how it is done, packing the ballroom of the hotel in a long evening and early morning of conviviality, celebration, and the occasional libation.

The Night of Celebration was to mark the achievements of Club teams and members during a fabulous 2016 season, and it was presided over by chairman Des O’Brien, with MC Killian Whelan.

Main speakers were underage chairman Liam Cronin, LGFA President Marie Hickey, Kildare County Board chairman Ger Donnelly, and Tipperary SF manager Liam Kearns.

County medals were presented to the Ladies team, the Junior Men and the Senior Men.

Individual awards were also made, with the Minor and Seniors Ladies Footballer of the Year titles going respectively to Lisa Aspell and Karen Bell; Special Recognition to Kilcullen GAA’s first ever adult All-Ireland Medal winner, Aoife Molyneaux; Minor Footballer of the Year Sean Fitzgerald; Junior Footballer of the Year Shay Pembroke; Senior Footballer of the Year Frannie Shortt; and Club Person of the Year John ‘Chalky’ White. Special presentations were made to John O’Brien and Jennifer Shortt.

Sponsors for the year were particularly acknowledged, including Nolans Butchers, The Spout Bar, and Murphy Design & Build. Dublin Coach was thanked for their sponsorship of the medals, Tony O’Donoghue Trophies also sponsored some of the awards, and Curragh Lawns Nursing Home sponsored the Photo Booth on the night.

This is the link to all the Diary photos from the evening.