Tuesday, March 22, 2016

'Thank you' for Fun Run support

Thank you to everybody who supported St Joseph's  Halverstown National  School and St Anne's School in the annual Kilcullen Fun Run which was held on Sunday 13 March, writes Nicholas Egan on behalf of the PTA of Halverstown NS.

It was our first ever Chip & Timed race which proved to be very successful for both adults and children. The atmosphere was electric in the grounds of the Parish Centre before the run, with everyone moving and shaking to the music being provided by Brian from Popup Races, children excited with their race number being worn with pride.

A record attendance for 5K road races was smashed in Kilcullen that day as we had 350 people registered — well done to everyone.

Yet again the refreshments were a real hit and much appreciated. A special treat for our junior runners was their very own Certificate to prove they finished their race.

Thank you to Kilcullen Parish Centre for the use of their rooms, John Kennedy, the marshals and Civil Defence personnel in making sure everyone obeyed the rules of the road while having fun.

We raised almost €5,000 so far with some donations still to come in.

Full results can be found on popupraces.ie.  The race was won in an incredible time of 16mins 20sec — well done James Nolan, fantastic running. Second male home was Paul Archibold, third was Colin Coyne. The first lady finisher was Emma Boland followed by Victoria Dowling and Roisin Kennedy — well done to all.

Thank you to our sponsors, Bardon's Bar of Kilcullen, TRI Curragh, Walls Restaurant of Kilgowan, Brennans Bar in Old Kilcullen, McGraths Kitchen & Bathrooms in Halverstown, Bank of Ireland Kilcullen, Ballygowan Water, No1 Fitness Gym Kilcullen, Spa Hotel Lucan, Berneys Chemist Kilcullen, Gasket Master, O'Reilly's Garage in Crookstown, TJ Malone of Ladytown, Tipperary Water, Judge Roy Bean's in Newbridge, and K&N Builders in Kilcullen. Both schools really appreciate all of your support and look forward to 2017 Kilcullen Fun Run.

A special thank you to the Fun Run Committee: Denise Brennan Gaffney, Adrienne Mc Govern, Eleana Dunne Keatley, Mary Egan, and Grainne McGrath.